First week of practical

26 September 2013- First and second of the day was only observation and assisting class teacher in and out of the classroom. Third and fourth day, I took over the whole class because the class teacher was sick and absent. One child vomited twice today, once was during the snack time, another time was during my lesson. I clean her up and mop the floor. it was really a tiring day for me.

The first lesson, I introduced a story about title: “People at work” by Dr Florence Lee to the children. After that, I read the whole story once for the children to listen. I also draw their attention to the key words, I use flash cards to repeat the words and have the children read along with me. Hence, after the story telling, I ask children some questions on the story and the children were actively participating in the question and answer session.

Lastly, after the story telling, I invite children to come out and re tell the story. The second lesson was about occupation: cleaner. It went on smoothly. I’m able to interact well with the children. Children had hands on experiences such as holding the broom and dust pan to sweep the floor, holding a mop and a pail to mop the floor, and a towel, sponge and a pail of water to wipe the whiteboard. Thus, as I was browsing websites, then I saw this link to a website called free technology for teachers. I read through it and this interesting topic has caught me reading it, it is called “Narrable adds an iphone app” for creating audio slides shows. You can add narration through computer’s microphone and phone call. It is an online story telling that enables you to merge photos along with the recorded voice, If possible,  I would like to try using narrable to integrate into my lesson.

Leave a comment